Distributed File System

How Can I Revert to an Earlier File Revision?

Tags: , , , , ,

Reverting to a Previous Revision with a Distributed File System

If you are looking at a synched distributed file sytem, the obvious question that comes up is, what happens if sales rep X decides to look at an engineers file and messes up this file?  This question can be answered at two levels.

If you are using the MS Distributed File System, the obvious first answer is setting up the proper access rights to users in your organization in the first place.  The fundamental question must arise, should the rep have been allowed to access the file in the first place.  If the answer is no, there was a configuration issue with your distributed file system.

If the answer is yes, then with our products, you can actually revert to former revisions throughout the distributed file system when using PeerSynch.  Here are the steps you would want to take:

1. Make sure your left Menu Tree is in the Advanced mode.

2. Select the Miscellaneous option from the left Menu Tree.

3. Check Use intermediate file during copy.

4. Now click on the Revisioning option from the left Menu Tree.

5. Check the option Revisioning – Keep backup files of overwritten Target Files.

If you would like more information on setting up a distributed file system for your company, we would be happy to go over what you need to do and how you can get started!